Take a risk for continuous improvement

Jeffrey E. Uvero
2 min readJan 1, 2024

--

This is very unexpected and very random to me, I just recognized that this is the last day of the year, this is the last day of 2023 and then I suddenly thought , what if I write a blog before this year ends. Not really personal but more on career learning and reflection this year.

I have taken many risks in my career this year. The first one is moving from one company to another. Last year I worked as a Technology Analyst, I am a solo developer there so I just do the code alone. Even though I have a liberty to use the tech I want I really missed having a team or partner to collaborate with. So I decided to move to another company.

By moving to another company I just not get the team collaboration I want, I also got the title/position I want. Most of the recruiters right now are not familiar with the term Technology Analyst as a developer. One time the recruiter asked me if I am still coding during my Tech Analyst Job. That situation makes me think that I need to move to another position or title with that company or another company. So by moving to another company
I got the title Mid React Engineer.

Another risk I took this year was just last week only. I am not disclosing what really happened because it’s more internal in the company but I volunteer to be the exclusive developer for every UI concern of the project. It is a risk for me because in terms of every UI concern all eyes are on me and also I am not really great in design. I can fix and create UI designs but not really as great as the others. But I still volunteer because I know If I missed this opportunity and something good will happen it will give me regret. I only live once so maybe if I succeed with this I win but if I fail I still learn.

I really want to share what is in my mind right now and write before the year’s end.If you came here to this part, thank you for staying and reading. Happy 123123 and Happy new year.

--

--

Jeffrey E. Uvero

Jeffrey E. Uvero is a PHP and JavaScript Developer currently working as React Engineer